Politecnico Milano Ipo Venture

Politecnico milano ipo venture

Global University Venturing will reveal the winners of this year's awards at the gala dinner as part of GUV: Fusion on May 22.

Global University Venturing is excited to present the shortlist for this year’s GUV Awards, listed here in alphabetical order.

The winners will be revealed at the gala dinner on May 22 as part of our GUV: Fusion conference, run jointly with the GCV Symposium, in London.

Politecnico di Milano's Massimo Colombo, Bruegel's Karen Wilson: European venture capital investment

We will feature in-depth articles about each winner in next month’s magazine.

Tickets to both the conference and the gala dinner are available at a 15% promotional rate until May 8, with university staff receiving an additional discount on conference entry – click here to book.


Tech Transfer Unit of the Year

Office of Licensing and Ventures (Duke University)

ETH transfer (ETH Zurich)

Technology Licensing Office (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Office of Technology Commercialization (Purdue University)

Oxford University Innovation (University of Oxford)


Fundraising of the Year

Cambridge Innovation Capital, $196m (University of Cambridge)

Imec.xpand, $135m (Imec)

Lab1636, $100m (Harvard University, Deerfield Management)

Osage University Partners III, $273m (Osage University Partners)

Poli360, $70m (Politecnico di Milano)


Investment Unit of the Year

Cambridge Enterprise Seed Funds

IP Group

Karolinska Development

Mars Innovation

UCL Technology Fund


Deal of the Year

Aprea Therapeutics, $62.8m series C (Karolinska Institute)

Beam Therapeutics, $135m series B (Harvard University)

Galecto Biotech, $90m series C (University of Edinburgh and Lund University)

Passage Bio, $115.5m series A (University of Pennsylvania)

Ultrahaptics, $44.8m series C (University of Bristol)


CVC Investment in a Spinout of the Year

Amal Therapeutics (Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund and Helsinn Investment Fund)

Fusion Pharmaceuticals (Varian Medical Systems and Johnson & Johnson Innovation–JJDC)

OmniSci (Nvidia and Verizon Ventures)

Oxford Nanopore (Amgen)

Ribon Therapeutics (Novartis Venture Fund, Johnson & Johnson Innovation–JJDC, Takeda Ventures, Celgene)


Technology of the Year

AlphaNavi Pharma (Kyoto University)

Apeel Sciences (UC Santa Barbara)

Innoging Medical (Ariel University)

Liopa (Queen’s University Belfast)

Wildlife Drones (Australian National University, University of Sydney)


Exit of the Year

Allakos, $128m IPO (Johns Hopkins University)

Moderna, $604m IPO (Harvard University)

Orchard Therapeutics, $200m IPO (University College London)

SecurityMatters, acquired by Forescout Technologies for $113m (University of Twente)

Ziylo, acquired by Novo Nordisk for up to $800m (University of Bristol)


Personality of the Year

Christel Piron, PreSeed Ventures

Lesley Millar-Nicholson, MIT Technology Licensing Office

Mark Mann, SE2020 Fund at Oxford University Innovation

Mark Payton, Mercia Technologies

Neil Crabb, Frontier IP


Lifetime Achievement Award 

This award is in recognition of a person whose career and dedication to technology transfer have had a profound impact on the sector.

The recipient will be disclosed on the night.

Politecnico milano ipo venture